Modern Vintage – Modern Classic

For all my adult life I have been a fan of Mötley Crüe. They epitomised the sleazy glam rock genre perfectly and their band members seemed to live their life that way too.

This all changed during 1987 when Sixx (Nikki Sixx is the bassist) almost died from a heroin overdose. He subsequently cleaned up his act and wrote a book based on his journal entries called “The Heroin Diaries: A Year in the Life of a Shattered Rock Star”.

This later became an album that was released in 2007 and Sixx A.M. was truly born (they were formed in 2006).

The emotion and feeling behind this album is truly amazing. The vocals are so powerful you can almost imagine being in Nikki’s warped mind as he tries to sort himself out.

Their next album that came out in 2011, This is gonna hurt, is more of the same. Maybe not quite such a morbid subject overall but, to me, still has links to the first album’s storylines. Another great album that puts Sixx A.M. right up there with my favorite bands.

Three years is a long time to wait. The anticipation of a new album was immense. I’d been regularly listening to the afore mentioned albums, listening to Nikki’s show, SixxSense, and following him, DJ Ashba and James Michael on as many social media outlets as possible. I was so eager to hear the new stuff.

They actually had previews of “Let it go”, “Stars” and “Drive” before the full album launch. The album went to number one on iTunes straight away and I would guess that it is selling pretty well as they have announced their first ever headline tour for next year.

I’m not going to a do a whole album review here as you can no doubt listen to it yourself on Spotify or other streaming services.

However I thought I’d give my thoughts on their Cars cover: Drive. I heard this prior to the album release and of course was intrigued as to how it would sound.

First listen I though, yes – lovely vocals. As the song grew I thought this is a bit too pomp and circumstance. However, it kind of mellows and you get sucked into the moment. James Michael has such a melancholic voice. His tone is amazing and so fits the bands vibe.

A very interesting, inspiring, moving and truly excellent album. Probably the first without the deep meaning behind it, but a great piece of work.

Drive and Stars to me are the standout tracks though every song is magnificent in its own way. What is your favourite track?

