Aiming High – Santa Cruz Rock Tavastia

I am running out of superlatives for Santa Cruz.

On September 5th I saw them perform live for the third time this year. Was this their best performance yet? Possibly not but there was enough variety in their set to make you want to go back for more.

Santa Cruz & Tavastia 2015

So my 4th time in total and I went with a few Santa Cruz noobies. I think it is difficult not to be somewhat impressed by what they do and how they do it!!

Santa Cruz & Tavastia 2015

Comparing the last gig I saw them perform in at Nosturi, there were a few changes to the setlist. Most noticeable was the live debut of “Can You Feel the Rain”. I was delighted at this since it is one of my favourite Santa Cruz songs with super-dreamy guitar work.

Santa Cruz & Tavastia 2015

They also had a bit of fun with Middy, their bass player, taking over vocals for a quick rendition of “Passenger” with Archie (singer/guitar) plucking away at the bass.

Santa Cruz & Tavastia 2015

Their full set is below, taken from Setlist.fm.

Bonafide Heroes
Velvet Rope
My Remedy
Anthem for the Young N’ Restless
Nothing Compares to You
Relentless Renegades
Let Me (Lay My Love On You)
Bye Bye Babylon
6 (66) Feet Under
Let Them Burn
Can You Feel the Rain
(Live Premiere)
Encore:
We Are the Ones to Fall
Wasted & Wounded
Aiming High

Santa Cruz & Tavastia 2015

An honourable mention should go to the support band for the evening. Shiraz Lane are another glam / metal band that appear to have a few very catchy tunes. They could be one to watch in the future.

What was the highlight for you?

