While My Guitar Gently Weeps – RIP Prince

2016 has been a crap year for me musically. There have been hardly any bands that I like in Finland recently and the summer circuit is a real mixed bag. 2016 has been horrendous for celebrity deaths – and the now the music world mourns the death and celebrates the life of Prince.

Prince

 

The deaths of Lemmy & Bowie this year have been quite tough. I am not saying I was the biggest fan of these guys, but they both had a tremendous influence on the music world. Lemmy’s death was more upsetting for me, I guess because of the suddenness of it all but they were both old. And you know that Lemmy had fun!

Prince was another level altogether for me. For sure, the funk side of things is not really my scene. At all. However, you could tell early on what a talented musician he was.

An enigma, a precocious talent, genius, not only did he perform some of the most well-known songs in the 80s, 90s and beyond he wrote for so many others. His music, and legacy, is everywhere.

It will be very interesting to see what is released from his “vault” in the coming years – there are supposed to be years of recordings, live concert footage, even a couple of movies.

I remember very well when Ronnie James Dio died. I thought this would be the start of the death avalanche. It has only been a small rift so far but in 2016 the snow is building momentum.

It may well turn out that Prince died of an overdose. TMZ are now reporting that Prince’s escapade of turning back a flight to go to hospital because of flu don’t make sense. Even so this is a great loss for the music world, and of course for anyone that knew him personally.

I recall a post on Facebook a few months back that found its way onto my feed. It was bemoaning the fact that people were posting so much about an artist and their death as being similar to the death of a friend. As a millennial they couldn’t understand why people were taking it to personally.

To respond to that: wait until you are a grown up. If you have known of a musician, or actor/acress, or comedian(ne), growing up with their talent… for almost a lifetime, they are bound to have an effect on your life and the memories you’ve had.

Ronnie Corbett, Victoria Wood, Terry Wogan – all such a huge part of my life. Music is even stronger. Ashes to Ashes by Bowie, God forbid: Dancing in the Streets, bring back a flood of memories. Mötörhead – one of the first albums I ever bought.

With Prince the build up to the turn of the millennium, 1999 – one of the ultimate party songs. At that was penned in 1982. Anything from the Purple Rain album, Sign O the Times… and he certainly didn’t stop in the 90s.

Releasing around 40, and selling over 100 million, albums he was touring almost every year. Not forgetting songs for others that wrote: Manic Monday; Nothing Compares 2 U to name but two. Here are a few more songs by Prince for other artists.

My favorite: When Doves Cry, but there are just so many.

A great loss!

Dearly beloved
We are gathered here today
2 get through this thing called life

