Bemused – Old feelings rise up – I’m Dead Inside

So Muse return to Helsinki, for this first time, I think, since their Olympic Stadium gig in 2013. They promised a spectacular show and have a great repertoire of songs so we were all set.

Muse @ Hartwall 2016

 

We arrived early, met for drinks at the bar during the warm up act and made our way to standing area ready for the show. As I previewed earlier this week their stage was huge. In the middle of the arena. A good view was almost guaranteed.

Muse @ Hartwall 2016

Their stage show was impressive. Lots of visuals and screens and lights. Their sound was brilliant too. This was quite a surprise given how many terrible gigs I’ve been to in the past at Hartwall in Helsinki. Soundgarden being just one example.

Muse @ Hartwall 2016

They played 6 songs from their latest album, Drones: the album they are promoting. This perhaps led to me being a bit unfamiliar with some of the songs. I bought the album when it came out but I don’t really like it and haven’t listened to it much at all.

Muse @ Hartwall 2016

At their Olympic stadium gig I forgave them for, what I thought was, a really lackluster concert in Kuala Lumpur back in 2007. I thought they we magnificent in 2013, however this time round it brought back all those memories again.

Muse @ Hartwall 2016

There was something really lacking. As in KL, they almost played mechanically. A very well rehearsed and implemented setlist but there was a spark missing.

Muse @ Hartwall 2016

So, perhaps this will be the last time I go to see them – unless their next albums are stunning. Shame really. It should have been such a great show. In the end it, for me, was only so so – despite the amazing stage show and their obvious talent as musicians.

Muse @ Hartwall 2016

Highlight for me musically was probably the drum and bass duet, Munich Jam, along with Starlight which always takes my back to my Malaysia days. Low light was The Globalist.

Muse @ Hartwall 2016

Were you there? What did you make of it?

